We acknowledge and pay respect to the past, present and future Traditional Custodians and Elders of the lands on which we learn, research and teach.
We recognise that all urban areas in Australia are located on the unceded sacred lands of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
We will support and advance urban scholarship that situates research in relation to Indigenous sovereignty and learning how to live and work together on Country.

ACRN acknowledges the mana whenua of the places in Aotearoa where we conduct our research and teaching.

About ACRN


The Australasian Cities Research Network (ACRN) was initially known as the Australian Sustainable Cities and Regions Network when it was first established in the early 2000s. The network’s fundamental aim is to promote, foster, champion, and disseminate research relevant to Australasian cities and regions. This is achieved via various activities and in particular the State of Australasian Cities (SOAC) Conference which has been running since 2003 when the inaugural conference was held in Sydney.

Membership of the ACRN is open to all those engaged in research which is relevant to Australasian cities and regions.

The ACRN Committee is made up of academics from Australia and New Zealand who volunteer their time to support and promote Australasian urban research activities including PhD and ECR networks (e.g. ACEURN), and to oversee the continuation of the SOAC conference and to lend advice and assistance to the host local organising committee.

The ACRN is co-convened by Professor Wendy Steele and Professor Iain White. This joint convenorship reflects the ACRN’s commitment to geographical and gender diversity.

The current committee also includes: Dr Ashraful Alam; Zheng Chin (AECURN Representative); Dr Sebastien Darchen; Prof. Jago Dodson; Prof. Carl Grodach; A/Prof Crystal Legacy; A/Prof Paul Maginn; Dr Laurence Troy; and Dr Gabriela Quintana Vigiola.